Life is so… whatever.

Why it sucks to have an overachieving dad

with 9 comments

After getting my Eng1 classcard…

Me: US ako o! Eto average ko *shows computed GWA to dad*!
Dad: Ohh. Next sem baka 1.2 na yan.

MUSTA NAMAN. Just because he’s got a summa cum laude standing at grad school right now, HMPH.

But I don’t care. I love my grades. I love my GWA. I don’t think I ever even got a GWA this high in Pisay. I don’t care what my dad says. Or doesn’t say, in this case, like… YAY, for instance. Or congrats. Or something, anything, besides “Ohh. Next sem baka 1.2 na yan.” Sabi ko nga kay Kris, it doesn’t matter as long as you know you did your best (ok, I didn’t. Haha. Lalo na sa Kas1.), and you’re happy with the results. Parents’ expectations are just too high.

But yeah. I could get a 1.2 if I tried. And I will try next sem, harder than I did last time. But of course I’m not promising anything, so if after next sem my dad still says the same thing, BAHALA SYA SA BUHAY NYA. HMPH.

I could’ve included this in my previous post, but it deserves an entry of its own, haha. :P

Written by eeeek

October 31, 2007 at 2:07 pm

Posted in School

Tagged with , , ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ay ok. Mas congrats na talaga to!!! :D Congrats, EIC!!!! I’m sooo happy for you. :D

    clarisse

    October 31, 2007 at 2:28 pm

  2. well. ganyan talaga ang fathers. i guess it’s their way of saying im proud of you. kaya mo ipagpatuloy yan. haha. i have no idea. we’ll never be fathers. pero ganyan ata ang kanilang expression of happiness. :))

    clarisse

    October 31, 2007 at 2:29 pm

  3. Thanks. :)

    Yeah. I know naman na somewhere beneath what he said, he’s really proud and happy about my grades. Maybe he just knows more than I do that I can do so much better pa.

    eeeek

    October 31, 2007 at 2:31 pm

  4. That’s just his way of saying congrats! ayos lang yan! para daw may goal ka for next sem! hahahaha…

    patrick

    October 31, 2007 at 9:01 pm

  5. Hehe, thanks Patrick. :)

    eeeek

    October 31, 2007 at 10:44 pm

  6. First of all, vanity. Thank you for updating my link. :)
    Second, congrats for a job well done.
    Lastly, don’t feel too bad about your dad’s comment. That’s just his way of pushing yourself to do better. Besides, he wouldn’t tell you, “Ohh. Next sem baka 1.2 na yan.” if you can’t do it. So he already made the assumption that YOU CAN. Whether or not you actually make that grade next sem, in his mind, he’s already convinced.

    Frances

    November 2, 2007 at 1:33 am

  7. hi ray ray! waw. congrats!

    ahihi. :)

    badtrip ang CRS. T.T

    magbbatch run pa tayo..

    YAAAAK.

    anna

    November 2, 2007 at 7:56 pm

  8. CONGRATS! haha.

    Dapat talunin mo ang 1.2. Aim for flat 1.00!

    Haha.

    Aim lang naman eh. Kaya ok lang. Haha.

    Lugigi

    November 3, 2007 at 6:28 pm

  9. @Anna: Thanks. :) Yaaaak onga eh.

    @Igi: Hala, good luck naman dun! Well onga naman, aim lang naman hahaha.

    eeeek

    November 4, 2007 at 12:20 am


Leave a Reply

