Life is so… whatever.

Santa talks about Christmas and gift-giving

with 2 comments

Q: Why do you give your gifts away at Christmas, of all times? Why not your own feast day?

A: I do it to remind people – children especially – of the value of generosity. Jesus was always giving things – and not only material things, but time…love…his own life. I’ve always tried my best – not that I always succeeded – to be as much like Him as possible.

“I pray for them to remember that even though the toys and other things I give are good things in themselves, they’re not what Christmas is all about. It’s not about consumerism – rushing through crowded malls, worrying if your present is big and expensive enough, getting drunk at office parties and so on. A gift should be a sign of appreciation, friendship, love.

~Both from a story I read on FictionPress: Tea and Cookies with a Saint.

Written by eeeek

December 22, 2007 at 6:35 am

Posted in Quoted

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great story. I’m sure hindi naman talaga fictional ang content :D

    rob

    December 22, 2007 at 2:46 pm

  2. Yep, I think it was based on St. Nicholas’ life story talaga.

    PS. Congrats on losing the surname when commenting. :P

    eeeek

    December 23, 2007 at 5:58 am


Leave a Reply

