Life is so… whatever.

How do you measure a year?

with 4 comments

People measure their year through their accomplishments, trials, significant experiences, blessings, and so many other ways. I do that too, but no matter how I look at it, 2007 has been an amazing and very blessed year for me. Sure it hurt some (or a lot, at times) but all the happiness and looooooove certainly more than made up for that.

So how exactly has 2007 been? Let’s see what happened to me this year.


In 2007 I…

2007 Quotable Quotes

“i know you’re destined for greatness at baka bukas na pala yung day naiuunveil ang greatness na yun. kaya go go go. we will be praying for you.”

~Rob, on my joining Teodoro Valencia

“The power of faith coupled with the power of God equals one grand miracle.

~In His Steps prayer journal

“All of us have regrets. But some of us still have time to erase them.”

~Marvin “Mouth” McFadden in One Tree Hill

“When you feel someone else’s pain and joy as if it were your own, then you know you really love them.”

~Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants Book3

LouieL: I’m sorry I can’t dance.
Me: It’s ok, me neither.
LouieL: Great, let’s not-dance together!

“All we have is now. Don’t run from it.”

~Mouth McFadden

Me: Ano un, joke?
Joreb: Oo, joke un.

~On me graduating with honors, LOL

“That’s not a cause. That’s an emergency.”

~Bono, University of Pennsylvania 2004

Though he be but little, he is fierce.”

~Seabiscuit, by Laura Hillenbrand

“When we pray, we don’t pray for our will. We configure our will to God’s will, and we submit ourselves to that will.”

~July 29 homily at St. Joseph the Worker Chapel (forgot the priest na, sorry)

“A friend is someone whom you can trust to genuinely care even when he/she doesn’t know what the hell you’re talking about.

“A friend is someone who takes down all the walls you’ve built around yourself, yet makes you feel safe even when you’re most vulnerable.”

~Me, during the module on friendship. (How very narcissistic of me quote myself, LOL.)

Nico: So, who are you wearing tonight?
Imang: SM Department Store haha.
Sir Vlad: SM MALL OF ASIA!

~Red carpet interview kunyari during the alumni homecoming

Discipleship is not just preaching the Word; it is living the Word.”

~Me again, after module on discipleship

I have big problems, but I do have a bigger, mightier God!”

~Zy Santos

“Don’t be disheartened; it’s not the end of the world… it’s just the end of my lovelife.”

~Sir Nathan (one of his many Math quotes)

“Nobody’s going to hand it to us. No one. It’s not enough for us to decry the lack of representation. We have to establish footholds in all creative sectors — writing, producing, directing, etc. We’re far too resourceful and hardworking to be victims.”

“I am not invisible. I refuse to be.”

~Alec Mapa on the Desperate Housewives slur

“When you worry too much, you’re putting limits on God’s generosity.”
~From Diane’s multiply

“Sorrow looks back, worry looks around, but FAITH looks up.”
~From a forwarded email in the UPSCA egroup

“Love will keep you from losing hope. Prayers might give you a miracle… Don’t underestimate them.”
~Rob, on my wanting a This Journal Will Change Your Life (hahahahaha. Don’t ask how this quote came about during the conversation, LOL.)

“A boy gets to be a man when a man is needed. Remember this thing. I have known boys forty years old because there was no need for a man.”
~Mama Torres, from John Steinbeck’s Flight

“A gift should be a sign of appreciation, friendship, love.”

2007 in Pictures


Counting my blessings

This year I thank the good Lord for…

  • surrounding me with family and good friends
  • the best friend I could ever ask for. I wouldn’t have made it through this year without her. :)
  • the new people I’ve met and became friends with (G13, UPSCA, other college friends)
  • pointing me towards UP. It was one of the best decisions of my life. :)
  • making me part of the most amazing block ever, because He knew I was so terrified of being with classmates na hindi ko ka-wavelength.
  • never leaving my side, even though sometimes ako yung lumalayo.
  • the many surprises in my academic life.
  • scholarships! :)
  • all the love I’ve received.
  • all the material blessings. Minsan I feel guilty na nga for being so spoiled.
  • relatively good health.
  • happiness.
  • all the lessons I’ve learned.
  • all the challenges, and for helping me overcome them all.
  • his forgiveness and mercy even though I wasn’t always nice this year.
  • taking care of the people I love.
  • Pisay. This year marked the end of my four-year adventure, and I can’t be happier with the way things turned out.
  • making me grow more as a person and as His child.
  • all the experiences that have helped me become who I am right now.
  • so many more things that I can’t remember right now, LOL.

How about love?

If we’re gonna measure 2007 by the amount of love I’ve received this year, we’re never gonna stop na. My family (not just the immediate family, but the extended family as well) has been closer than ever, and my friends are the best everrr. Kulang na lang talaga ay lovelife. Ay, may ganun!

Anyways, happy happy new year to everyone! :) Hope you had fun in 2007, and hope you have a blessed 2008 ahead of you. :)

Written by eeeek

January 1, 2008 at 12:04 am

Posted in HappYness

Tagged with , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. bat wala akong quotable quote? marami naman akong quotable quotes ah. di lang memorable hahahaha!

    Camille

    January 2, 2008 at 9:01 pm

  2. Eh ang dalas nating mag-usap, mahirap mamili ng quote!

    Saka ang mga pinakamemorable na sinabi mo para sakin ay yung mga times na kinikilig ka for me. At pag nag-uusap tayo tungkol sa pag-ibig. Hahaha. Private yun eh, hahahaha.

    eeeek

    January 2, 2008 at 11:10 pm

  3. sosyal, i’ve been quoted twice hahaha. love life bwahahaha

    rob

    January 6, 2008 at 9:21 pm

  4. Ok musta naman ngayon ko lang nabasa tong comment mo Rob.

    Hahaha syempre. You’re so quotable eh.

    Nako pinagtatawanan mo ang lovelife ko! Yabang mo, por que ikaw andami mo lang fangirls eh! :P

    eeeek

    January 14, 2008 at 10:29 pm


Leave a Reply

