Life is so… whatever.

CODE BLUE!

with 2 comments

Have you ever experienced one of those code blue scenes on Grey’s Anatomy, where your loved one (the patient) suddenly stops breathing and his/her heart stops beating and all these doctors and nurses frantically try to bring him/her back to life? And it seems like time came to a screeching halt and your own heart stopped beating as you stare in fear at the horrific event in front of you?

Well, today that happened to me.

With my beloved BERTING.

So. It was my fault, really. (Duh. It can’t be his fault now, can it?) I bought this pirated Sims2 collection DVD. (Because I’m poor. Sorry na.) To install the game I needed to install this Alcohol 120% software/driver thingy that creates virtual drives on which I will mount the images in the DVD to fool the computer into thinking that I have the cds. So I installed Alcohol, ignoring the warnings shouted out to me by the ever careful Windows Vista because I thought it was just asking me if I wanted to allow the program. Haha not reading noh. It probably told me that “installing this unknown software will result in the Blue Screen of Doom!!1!111!!!!one!eleventy-one!!1 And if you don’t want to die of a heart attack please stop this installation now!!!” and I simply ignored it!

Well, I got what I deserved for ignoring it because next thing I knew, Berting had crashed and the Blue Screen of Doom did indeed show up. It displayed instructions that I did not get to read because Berting restarted a couple of seconds later. Great, I thought. Just restart and we can all forget that I made the Blue Screen of Doom come out.

However, it wasn’t that easy. It restarted, yes, but then this thing on the system tray said that it was still installing the driver. Then a second later Blue Screen of Death showed up again. This is it. CODE BLUE! CODE BLUE (SCREEN OF DOOM)!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hoping against hope, I restarted Berting in all of the various safe mode settings, but still he was in code blue! The vicious cycle broke my heart every damn time. I couldn’t breathe. I couldn’t concentrate on Dirty Dancing on ETC. I wanted to cry. I wanted to die. I was as good as dead when I tell my mom that I had just killed Berting anyway.

Thank God for the internet, though, and for our trusty old desktop PC. I googled “installing alcohol crashes system” or something like that, and found out that I wasn’t alone in my predicament. Countless people have already experienced code blue! And so I found the solution in some forum: SYSTEM RESTORE. Yes, I know I am stupid because I should’ve known that booting your computer using the OS cd turns back time… or well, reverts your system back to whatever point you choose before the Blue Screen of Doom came. Which to me seemed as good as turning back time already, so yay.

So as I was chatting with Cam on Trusty Old Desktop PC (we really should name it too), System Restore was busy resuscitating Berting my love. And moments later, it was as if the Blue Screen of Doom had never happened! And Berting would not be revived if it weren’t for that forum, and for the Windows Vista cd that came with Berting. If it happened on Trusty Old Desktop PC, we probably would’ve had to call Jay our trusty computer technician who lives a couple of streets away, because I’m pretty sure we don’t have that one’s Windows cd (Jay installs it from his own cds whenever he fixes Trusty Old Desktop PC… which is more often that it should be).

So… Lesson for today? Always, always check if the software you’re installing is compatible with your OS (especially Vista), or else suffer the wrath of the Blue Screen of Doom.

Written by eeeek

March 24, 2008 at 5:44 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. si desktop ay si .. bruno.

    camille

    March 25, 2008 at 8:20 am

  2. Syempre yun talaga yung cinommentan mo sa hinaba-haba nitong entry na to?? :))

    Pero hmm, bagay. Pero parang magkapatid yung tunog ng names nila ni Berting hahaha.

    eeeek

    March 25, 2008 at 8:26 am


Leave a Reply

