Life is so… whatever.

Ten Things I Learned in Pisay

with 7 comments

I was reading my old sent messages in Yahoo! Mail (yes, I have nothing better to do, LOL), and I came across my articles for our Econ magazine in 4th year. And I found this article. I’d completely forgotten that I wrote this, but even now, more than a year later, I still agree with every word I wrote, so I decided to post it here. Yes, I’m narcissistic enough to actually quote myself on my blog. :lol:

Please bear in mind that this was written for Econ, so Econ terms were used in an attempt to be witty. It’s funnier if you remember the technical, econ definitions of the terms like efficiency vs effectivity, alienation, and the invisible hand. Kung di kayo natawa/natuwa, sorry na lang. :P (Also, it’s so funny how I still write the exact same way now. I don’t know how to describe it. Basta, it’s so me. Haha.)

Ten Things I Learned In Pisay

  1. The supply of homework doesn’t care about the (lack of) demand for it. Whether or not you want it to, it will come, and when it does, it will mean another long night for you. So instead of fighting it (you’ll lose anyway), just take it when it comes and do it. Come perio, you’ll thank your teachers for it.
  2. There is an opportunity cost to everything. Studying in the best high school in the Philippines isn’t easy. In return you will get more difficult lessons, more homework, and sleepless nights. But all that is a small price to pay when you consider the returns: learning from the best teachers, meeting some of the best friends you’ll ever have, and four of the greatest years of your life. Fair enough, huh?
  3. Cramming is efficient. However, it is ineffective. Yes, cramming is part of the Pisay experience, but unless you want to spend four years in a constant state of panic over the requirements for tomorrow (which your teachers informed you eons ago), cramming is no way to go through with life in Pisay. But of course, we Pisay students inevitably cram anyway.
  4. Limited goods + infinite wants = scarcity. In Pisay probably the scarcest commodities are time and rest. Have you ever seen a Pisay student who has never once wished for a 48-hour day? I didn’t think so. We all want more sleep, more free time, more vacation days, more homework-free days. But there is no more. We get what we get, and what we should do is to make the most of that very limited time. Before you know it, it’s your last perio and you’re left wondering where all that time went.
  5. There is an invisible hand that guides us. And that hand is the Hand of God. In Pisay it is easy to get lost when you have no one to hold on to. What many don’t realize is that God’s hand is always there for us to take, and He will help us get through four very difficult years in this school. I learned that halfway through my journey in Pisay, and I never want to let go again.
  6. After four years in Pisay, you will have experienced LDMU at some point. In Pisay there are only two ways a person can go: to be the nerdiest nerd you could be, or to succumb to laziness and resort to cramming all the time. I must admit I went the latter way, having surrendered to LDMU more than once. But many a Pisay scholar will agree with me when I say that Pisay is a very tiring business, and if you’re not prepared you’ll get burned out easily.
  7. To get through Pisay, you must establish equilibrium. Pisay is not just all about studying. Even the smartest people get tired sometimes, and I know even Rob Roque plays strategy/war games, and *gasp* DOTA to unwind (hard to imagine, right?). We are allowed to have fun too, you know, only we mustn’t let that get in the way of our studies.
  8. Skill-building by nature is inefficient. It takes four years to equip us with the lessons that will help us be the best we can be in life. It takes four years for us to appreciate how much we have been given and how much we must give back in return. It takes four years of rigorous training to create the people that will hopefully make the Philippines a better place.
  9. Alienation is not good for you. You need friends if you want to stay sane through the four very difficult years ahead of you. Do not think that your books are enough companions through the journey. Once in a while you will need someone to turn to, so make friends, and keep them close.
  10. Econ with Sir Vlad rocks! ‘Nuff said. :)
Written by eeeek

June 14, 2008 at 10:45 pm

Posted in Nostalgia, Random

Tagged with , ,

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Ten Things I Learned in Pisay In Pisay it is easy to get lost when you have no one to hold on to. What many don’t realize is that God’s hand is always there for us to take, and He will help us get through four very difficult years in this school. … […]

  2. oh my kasama pa ako hahaha. we should play dota sometime haha

    rob

    June 15, 2008 at 9:43 am

  3. But you still haven’t taught me! Boo! I bet I can kick your ass pag natuto ako. :P

    And anyways, as if naman makakasingit pa ako sa busy sched mo. Harrumph. :P

    eeeek

    June 15, 2008 at 10:10 pm

  4. aylaveettt… at ang funny nung rob roque part, infairness… but no offense to rob, pero i bet, may ibang tao ka na ring gustong ilagay din dun.. :P infairness, matagal ko na siyang di nasisilayan.. :)

    fatima

    June 16, 2008 at 10:49 pm

  5. Is this the person I’m thinking of? If it is… I didn’t know he plays DOTA. (Not that I’m surprised. But I just didn’t actually know.) But yeah matagal ko na rin syang di nasisilayan, wah! If it isn’t… I must be dense or something. Di ko talaga gets. Wala na akong ibang maisip na person. Haha.

    eeeek

    June 17, 2008 at 6:01 pm

  6. i don’t know about dota.. pero i mean he has time to unwind churva.. i was talking about the equilibrium part.. :P

    fatima

    June 20, 2008 at 8:40 pm

  7. AAHHHH OK. Makes so much more sense now, hahahahaha. And mas maganda syang example. Wahahahaha. Sorry Rob! (Not that he has time to read these comments anyway naman so he probably won’t find out wahahaha)

    OMG I REALLY NEED AN EXCUSE TO TEXT HIM NOW NA! :lol:

    eeeek

    June 20, 2008 at 9:14 pm


Leave a Reply

