Life is so… whatever.

I got into a car accident yesterday.

with 8 comments

As in ako yung naka-aksidente. How I managed to do that without even knowing how to drive (and without even being in the freaking driver’s seat in the first place!) still amazes me until now.

So it happened when my family and I got home from an afternoon of shopping yesterday. Since we have no maid as of the moment (because the last couple that were supposed to replace the last one we had changed their minds what the hair), I was instructed to get off the car and open the gate to the garage. My dad said something about opening the side nearer our drunk neighbors first to minimize my exposure to them LOL (because for some reason I have neighbors who have drinking parties at any and all points of the day) and I joked with my sister about how ridiculously funny that is (I even told her to time how long I’m exposed because we’re crazy like that) as, without looking, I pushed the car door open.

…AND PROMPTLY HIT THE PERSON WALKING PAST THE CAR AT THAT EXACT MOMENT. And said person doubled up in pain and started bawling right there in the middle of the road. I apologized profusely and we moved to the sidewalk where she sat and attempted to recover, but OMG there was major sobbing and I was starting to freak out because OMG did I just injure someone?!?!

My dad got out of the car to see what was happening and we went inside the house so we weren’t all exposed out on the road like that, and my ninang (who’s also our neighbor) who saw the whole thing came over and checked out how badly injured the girl was, and our other neighbor made the brilliant suggestion to bring the girl to the hospital WHAT THE HAIR. At this point I could not believe how quickly the situation had escalated, and surely there was no need for that? My ninang sure didn’t believe there was anything wrong to warrant that much sobbing, but hey, the girl (who works as a maid for the family of the other girl who was with her) could sue us or something even though their is no possibility that I did her any lasting damage so ok fine, my parents brought her to the hospital. Me? I was instructed to stay here at home where I promptly broke down and went into a panic attack. The many if-onlys and could’ves assailed my thoughts, because if only I wasn’t laughing with me sister, I would’ve seen the passing people and could’ve avoided the impromptu hospital visit. Actually at that point, I wasn’t worrying about the girl I hit as much as I was worrying about the massive scolding I was sure to get when my parents got home. I stopped caring about the stupid girl when my ninang assured me that there was nothing to worry about and we’re just doing standard procedure so that the girl doesn’t get a chance to mooch money off us on fake charges, BECAUSE SERIOUSLY, I HIT MY SISTER PLENTY OF TIMES WITH VARIOUS DOORS AND I HAVE NEVER EVEN ONCE MADE HER CRY OK.

And then when they get to the hospital my dad texts me saying the girl is still in some pain but was already laughing and relating her life story. WHAT. THE. HAIR. I refused to reply to that. After nearly giving me a heart attack, suddenly she’s all buddy-buddy with my parents??? Harrumph. I SHOULD SUE HER FOR EMOTIONAL DAMAGES OR SOMETHING.

So anyways. Thank God the sermon lasted about 1% as long as I actually expected (was expecting an all-nighter, but I hadn’t even started on dinner by the time the discussion was over!), and so far nobody’s been suing us yet, so I shall now forget this incident ever happened and just be careful next time I open my car door.

Written by eeeek

July 8, 2008 at 12:03 am

Posted in Misadventures

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. thank you .

    منتدى كوره

    July 8, 2008 at 3:20 am

  2. aba! nagalit ka pa!
    jokes!

    who knows mas mataas langs iguro threshold sa pain ng sis mo

    EMO damage sucks ryt?

    JM

    July 8, 2008 at 7:22 pm

  3. Eh kasi. Mukhang umaarte lang eh. I mean well of course I know masakit naman, pero EXAGG ha.

    Oh well, bahala nga sya. Hmph. :lol:

    eeeek

    July 8, 2008 at 8:34 pm

  4. haha. natawa naman ako dito.. kahit di sya katawa-tawa. natawa lang ako.

    i felt the same when i accidentally lysol-ed you. haha. as in sobrang.. WAAAH… pde bang ilysol ko rin sarili ko?!

    shayne

    July 8, 2008 at 11:25 pm

  5. Eh well haller you could’ve blinded me! Pang-ER talaga yun! Hahahaha. Eh aba eto, pagkalayo-layo kaya ng ospital, saka ang simple lang naman nung injury! Gaano ba naman kasi kalakas yung force ng pagbukas ng pinto ng kotse diba. EXAGG talaga yung babaeng yun!

    Pero nakakatawa nga after the initial panic hahaha.

    eeeek

    July 8, 2008 at 11:31 pm

  6. I had an accident too few months ago pero hindi ako yung nagddrive. Nashock yung driver so ako na lang ang nagcheck dun sa victim. Yung mga kasama nya sobrang ngagalit na pero we assured na dadalin na lang sa hospital. Buti na lang it was just a minor injury.

    Be a extra careful na lang next time :)

    Ces

    July 9, 2008 at 1:38 pm

  7. Haaaay. This reminds me of the time when I sideswiped a pedestrian. The running car’s sidemirror hit her waist. I was driving. Alone. 17 years old. I left her. Too scared to find out if she was injured or alright.
    Hit and run. If only I could turn back time.

    frances

    July 10, 2008 at 8:14 pm

  8. Good Blog! great blogging!

    Life grows with experiences… I remember my first accident.

    I grew up in a farm. My dad was driving us home from our long weekend in the town. We had a long day and my old man was a bit too tired for driving. We got off road and the truck got trapped in a ditch.

    Long story short I fell into a ditch. Can’t remember much, except that Dad pulled me out with a rope.

    I often like to think it never happened but, sometimes I feel cold dampness of the night and the horrid sounds of thunder and wake up sweating.

    If it would have happened in this day and age we would have claimed damages (no bear trap signs in the middle of winter). My neighbor won a case after hiring this los angeles accident attorney. I suppose money can’t wash the ugly memories away but can bring some newer and happier ones.

    Take care
    Ian

    Ian

    July 14, 2008 at 10:45 am


Leave a Reply

