Life is so… whatever.

GAGRADUATE AKO.

leave a comment »

Today I was at our college job fair for the third day in a row, and I passed by this booth that I don’t think I’ve stopped at before. The guy manning it was nice and a warm presence and chatty, not like the usual types who are coolly professional or whatever. My friends were applying for an internship, so I had to clarify that I’m looking for actual employment. The conversation went something like this:

Him: So graduating ka na this April?
Me: Sana po.
Him: Bakit lahat ng tinanong ko, isa lang ang nagsabing gagraduate sya? Lahat “sana” daw. Dapat “gagraduate ako!” Kasi pag sana lang, 50-50 lang. Baka nga sana lang gumraduate ka.
Me: Ok. GAGRADUATE AKO.
Him: Yown!

And I realized, he was right. If I claim that I’m graduating, set that as a definite goal, then I’ll more likely work more towards that goal. If I keep saying “sana,” I’m opening myself to the possibility of not graduating. I mean, on one hand, it’s realistic to prepare myself for failure, but what if I’m already setting myself up for it by even thinking it? So from now on, I’m going to say it with conviction every time.

  • I WILL FINISH MY THESIS.
  • ANNA AND I WILL PASS PI100.
  • I WILL GRADUATE IN APRIL 2011.

I told all this to my thesis partner, and somehow our online “meeting” turned into a mutual pep talk/motivation session, as our online meetings usually do. We work better when we meet in person, so usually when we’re online we set goals and talk about graduating and just try to encourage each other. We need it. And it’s great. It makes me feel not alone, reminds me that I’m not doing this on my own. The saying misery loves company is kinda true, I guess. Not that we pull each other down or anything, but it’s definitely better to go through tough times knowing there’s someone beside you. And it’s going to be totally awesome (hurhur bonus points to whoever gets that reference!) when we both graduate three months from now. :)

Written by eeeek

January 12, 2011 at 10:31 pm

Posted in Friends, Musings, School

Leave a Reply

