Life is so… whatever.

my bookshelf can’t catch up but that’s okay.

leave a comment »

National Bookstore is on sale. There was only one logical outcome of this.

Sale lasts until April 15th. Between then and today, there are two paydays. I might possibly buy the entire bookstore in the next three weeks. :DDD:

I wish I felt even a tiny bit of buyer’s remorse, but I don’t. The only remorse I have is over the fact that I did not buy more. They didn’t have A Game of Thrones (which I’ve read anyway, so I’m only buying it to complete the set, and in case I’d ever reread it), and I made a deal with myself not to buy A Dance with Dragons until I’ve finished A Clash of Kings. Motivation! Maybe I will finish it before Season 2 of the show starts. (…this coming weekend. LORD HELP ME)

I’d say I have a problem, but if I do, then it’s a good problem to have. And my enabling friends and family aren’t helping one bit.

me: SALE SA NATIONAL WAAAAAAH TAKE MY ATM AWAYYY
anna: OHMY GO BUY ALL THE BOOKS! =)))))

me: WHY ARE THEY ON SALE UGH WHAT AM I GOING TO DO
sis: buy more books!

They are the WORST. :)) And because I am also an enabler, here’s what I said to K.

me: Sale sa national, js. In case you were looking to add to your ~unread pile lolol.

Because if there’s anyone whose unread pile is worse than mine, it’s her. Bwaha.

Speaking of books, my sister linked me to this some time ago. It’s a little creepy how accurate and relevant this is to my life, but then again, all bookworms are probably the same, lol. Let me quote some of it:

Date a girl who reads. Date a girl who spends her money on books instead of clothes. She has problems with closet space because she has too many books. Date a girl who has a list of books she wants to read…

Find a girl who reads. You’ll know that she does because she will always have an unread book in her bag. She’s the one lovingly looking over the shelves in the bookstore, the one who quietly cries out when she finds the book she wants.

No really, it’s a terrifying how me this is. My mother keeps nagging me to buy more clothes for work and I seldom do, but I keep bringing home books. She also scolds me because my bag is always heavy and I keep breaking all my bags because of that, and I tell her if they’re gonna make a bag that big then it should be able to bear the weight of a book. Or two. Because there is no way I am not bringing a book with me. And the last sentence? Exactly what I looked like today at National Bookstore, um.

Let her know what you really think of Murakami. See if she got through the first chapter of Fellowship… Ask her if she loves Alice or she would like to be Alice.

It’s easy to date a girl who reads. Give her books for her birthday, for Christmas and for anniversaries. Give her the gift of words, in poetry, in song. Give her Neruda, Pound, Sexton, Cummings. Let her know that you understand that words are love. Understand that she knows the difference between books and reality but by god, she’s going to try to make her life a little like her favorite book.

1) I’ve only read Norwegian Wood but I think I want to read more of his stuff.
2) OF COURSE I got through the first chapter of Fellowship.
3) I think I’d like to be Alice. Her life is definitely more exciting than mine right now. :|
4) YES PLEASE, GIVE ME BOOKS FOR ALL THE OCCASIONS.
5) Well that depends, because sometimes my favorite book is Night haha. But sometimes it’s Harry Potter and who doesn’t want to make their life that magical?

When you find her up at 2 AM clutching a book to her chest and weeping, make her a cup of tea and hold her. You may lose her for a couple of hours but she will always come back to you. She’ll talk as if the characters in the book are real, because for a while, they always are.

You will propose on a hot air balloon. Or during a rock concert. Or very casually next time she’s sick. Over Skype.

…You will write the story of your lives, have kids with strange names and even stranger tastes. She will introduce your children to the Cat in the Hat and Aslan, maybe in the same day.

1) Yes, that has happened.
2) WHAT DO YOU MEAN THE CHARACTERS AREN’T REAL.
3) Preferrably rock concert, pls and thanks.
4) If I ever have a daughter I might name her Arya. And all my kids will read all the things I did.

…Or better yet, date a girl who writes.

…HURHURHUR. XD

=====

And finally, let’s have an update on my 50/120/500 challenge. Currently at 12/29/144 which means I am on track (barely). But then again you didn’t see my stats last week, I was behind for both books and movies. D: I blame Nandito Ako which is a topic for another day. I think I’ll post my progress every week so we know when I’m not doing so well hahaha. As always, list of everything is in the Scrapbook page. Will maybe post about some of the stuff I’ve read and watched when I feel like it.

Written by eeeek

March 26, 2012 at 10:56 pm

Leave a Reply

