Life is so… whatever.

end of year survey meme thing – 2014 edition

leave a comment »

aka in which you see how much I’ve fallen in love with Australia. sigh.

Where did you begin 2014?
At home, watching the neighbors’ fireworks — still. The parents who used to live in the house in front of ours kissed at midnight, aww.

What did you do in 2014 that you’d never done before?

  • Went on a trip with my sister and not my parents. twice.
  • Went on a trip that I paid for, with my parents.
  • WENT TO AUSTRALIAAAAAAAA
    • Experienced winter! Not a snowy winter, but temperatures were in the single digits. Finally got to wear a coat and gloves and a million layers, haha.
    • Went to a concert outside the Philippines (actually went to two)
    • SAW BASTILLE LIVE WHICH IS ITS OWN ITEM BECAUSE IT WAS THE GREATEST
    • SAW SNOW. AHHHH. Though it doesn’t snow in Sydney, there’s this mountain place (called the Snowy Moutains. How creative, Australia.) where it does and people go to ski and stuff. It wasn’t snowing the day we were there but it had snowed for most of the week before so it was all white and fluffy (and wet and cold. haha)
    • BUILT A SNOWMAN. A tiny, pathetic one.
    • Lived on my own AND abroad. I say lived because hey, it was a long time and I had an apartment (that I didn’t pay for lolol) and bought groceries and cooked. And took out the garbage. Let me pretend, okay lol.
    • Spent my birthday not at home — and in another country, in fact. Not with my family.

Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
LOL idk if I even made any, aside from my reading goal. I sort of have a few for next year though.

What dates from 2014 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
June 15 – BASTILLE LIVE IN MELBOURNE

And just that whole Australia episode, June 7th to August 9th.

What was your best month?
June and July, because ‘STRAYA

Were you in school anytime this year?
Only to eat or watch things. Haha.

What was your biggest achievement of the year?
AUSTRALIA. Well it wasn’t really an achievement lolol. So… lived on my own for a couple months!

What was your biggest failure?
Not reading 50 books, again. Getting tired of work but not knowing what else I want to do. Spending so much? Except I don’t regret most of it???

What was the best thing you bought?
Bastille tickets! BOTH TIMES because I also bought the tickets for 2015 in 2014. ALL THE DVDS.

Whose behavior merited celebration?
Those Bastille kids for being hilarious and sarcastic and adorable.

Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
STILL MY IDIOT NIECE OH MY GOD

Where did most of your money go?
Travel. Buying a bunch of stuff in Australia. Traveling in Australia. DVDs. Theather! I guess it’s a good thing that this wasn’t a big year for concerts in Manila.

What did you get really, really, really excited about?
THE HOBBIT!!!!! AUSTRALIAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA, in case you couldn’t already tell.

What song will always remind you of 2014?
Oblivion. Or any Bastille song, really. Also Blank Space, because GOT A LONELY STARBUCKS LOVERS.

Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? I don’t know. I’m bored of the direction (or lack thereof) my life is going, but I’m happy about the experiences I got to have this year. It feels like my life is like blahblahFUNTIMESblahlahYAYFUNblaaah
b) thinner or fatter? LOL STILL FATTER. Haven’t we hit the threshold yet wtffff
c) richer or poorer? I’d say… poorer. Based on my ending account balance. Which is dumb. Oh my God. Do something about that next year, self.

What do you wish you’d done more of?
Reading instructions (LMFAO oh Bastille contest). Reading. Writing. Living in Australia. Seeing more of Australia, particularly Sydney, which, for all the time I spent there I actually didn’t get to see much of (i.e. museums, zoos, local things other than restaurants and markets). And the rest of Australia. There’s so much to see, two months especially while working wasn’t enough. :(

What do you wish you’d done less of?
Eating out. Working. Being stressed. Procrastinating. — still same answers as last year. Also: spending on unnecessary things, or things that don’t add value to my life. i.e. my second concert in Australia, which, while fun, I could’ve done without. So mostly the latter, because there were many unnecessary but fun things I spent on that I don’t regret at all. Also, saying yes to things/people I don’t really want to say yes to.

How will you be spending Christmas?
Still in the province. It was boring.

Did you fall in love in 2014?
With Dan Smith. And Bastille in general.

How many one-night stands?
LOL.

Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Um.

What was the best book you read?
Omg this wasn’t a good year for reading for me. But maybe Unbroken.

What was your greatest musical discovery?
BASTILLE BASTILLE BASTILLE

What did you want and get?
Australia.

What did you want and not get?
Not being forever alone. A meet and greet with Bastille. I’d like to think I probably wouldn’t have made it even if I’d followed instructions to the letter?

What was your favorite film of this year?
Fury, wow.

What did you do on your birthday?
Worked. It was my first day not working with the team I was working with in Australia. Had lunch at one of the restaurants at the harbour with Mel (I can’t remember the name of the place but we had clam chowder, squid, and… stuff), then dinner at some fancy French bistro. Then watched the Masterchef AU finale at my apartment while eating popcorn, lol.

What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Bastille meet and greet. More time in Australia. Not being friendzoned, rofl.

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2014?
Still more dresses. Red lipstick.

What kept you sane?
Music.

Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Colin, Lee, and DANIEL FUCKING SMITH.

What political issue stirred you the most?
Corruption JFC. And all this transportation shit.

Who did you miss?
Still Kim. :( Also AUSTRALIA DOES THAT COUNT. My BFF who was super busy with med school.

Who was the best new person you met?
K FROM AUSTRALIA HAHAHIHIHI. Jk, but he was definitely the best-looking. Haha.

Would you say you’ve changed since the beginning of this year?
Yes.

Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2014.
Travel. See the world. It really gives you a whole new perspective.

Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
i swear i lived (still same as last year. which is probably why i am pretty fucking poor right now — lots of opportunities big and small and i kept taking them. my philosophy on expenses is, “will i regret having had the experience later on?” and if the answer is “no, even when you’re old you’ll still feel every peso was worth it and you’ll still miss it” then i do it. only a few things fell into the category of “it was cool but it wasn’t worth it for that much money” or “fuck i should not have bought that” lolol.)

Where did you begin 2015?
In front of my house, watching fireworks. Again. AND THEN DRINKING WINE YAY.

Written by eeeek

January 1, 2015 at 8:46 pm

Leave a Reply

